Yale Committee for Art Recognizing Enslavement (CARE)

The Yale Committee for Art Recognizing Enslavement (CARE) will work with members of the campus and New Haven communities to commission works of art and related programming to address Yale’s historical roles and associations with slavery and the slave trade as well as the legacy of that history. Inclusive programming that fosters reflection, remembrance, discussion, learning, and healing will be essential for each project. The committee will solicit input widely from across the university and its home city to ensure that these artistic interventions, in various locations, will make a productive and meaningful difference in our shared communities.

Members of CARE include Yale faculty and staff and colleagues from New Haven. In the fall semester of 2023, student government groups will be asked to nominate students to be part of the committee.

If you would like to send a message to the committee about your thoughts on art and programming that address Yale’s historical roles and associations with slavery and the slave trade, please use the CARE webform.

We look forward to learning from your recommendations and perspectives and to updating you about the committee’s work.

Committee Members

Kymberly Pinder (Co-Chair)
Stavros Niarchos Foundation Dean of the School of Art and Professor of Art and art History

View Kymberly Pinder’s bio (PDF)

Adriane Jefferson (Co-Chair)
Director of Arts and Cultural Affairs for the City of New Haven

View Adriane Jefferson’s bio (PDF)

Michael Morand (Co-Chair)
Director for Community Engagement for the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library

View Michael Morand’s bio (PDF)

Charles Warner Jr. (Co-Chair)
District Behavior Specialist for New Haven Public Schools and member of the Board of Directors of the Amistad Committee

Kwadwo Adae
Artist from the New Haven community

Kevin Beasley
Sculptor and Alumnus of Yale School of Art

Crystal Feimster
Associate Professor in the departments of African American Studies and History and the programs of American Studies and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Yale University

View Crystal Feimster’s bio (PDF)

Roderick Ferguson
William Robertson Coe Professor of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies and Professor of American Studies at Yale University

View Roderick Ferguson’s bio (PDF)

Chevelle Irvin
Culinary Support Center Logistics Team Lead for Yale Hospitality

View Chevelle Irvin’s bio (PDF)

Matthew Makomenaw
Assistant Dean of Yale College and Director of the Native American Cultural Center

View Matthew Makomenaw’s bio (PDF)

Keely Orgeman
Seymour H. Knox, Jr., Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Yale University Art Gallery

View Keely Orgeman’s bio (PDF)

Alan Plattus
Professor of Architecture at the Yale School of Architecture

James Rawlings
Chief Executive Officer and President for Michelle’s House Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, former President of the Greater New Haven Branch of the NAACP, and former Trustee of the National Board of the NAACP

View James Rawlings’s bio (PDF)

Margaret Anne Tockarshewsky
Executive Director of the New Haven Museum

View Margaret Anne Tockarshewsky’s bio (PDF)