Committee on Art in Public Spaces (2023-2024)

The committee is responsible for advising the president about the numerous works of art situated in Yale’s public spaces, indoors and outdoors. They make recommendations regarding the inventory and condition of such art, and ways in which the university can make the art more accessible to campus residents and visitors, including tours and websites.

The committee welcomes the views of members of the university about art appearing in Yale’s public spaces. In accordance with Yale’s mission, the Report of the Committee to Establish Principles on Renaming, and the university’s commitment to diversity and inclusion, the committee reviews public works of art and makes recommendations to the president about future art acquisitions, conservation plans, and ways for public art to reflect the mission and diversity of Yale today. 

Committee Members

Alan Plattus (Chair)
Professor of Architecture; Director, Yale Urban Design Workshop and Center for Urban Design Research (YUDW, School of Architecture

Edward Cooke
Charles F. Montgomery Professor of the History of Art; Director, Center of Study in American Decorative Arts and Material Culture; Professor of American Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies for History of Art

Mary Christ
Campus Art Collection Registrar

Enrique M. De La Cruz
Professor and Chair of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Head, Branford College

Susan Gibbons
(Committee Staff)
Chief of Staff to the President, Vice Provost for Collections and Scholarly Communication

Cathy Jackson
Director of Planning Administration

Martin Kersels
Professor of Art

Meleko Mokgosi
Associate Professor Painting/Printmaking, School of Art; Co-Director, Graduate Studies in Painting/Printmaking

Keely Orgeman
Seymour H. Knox, Jr., Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, Yale University Art Gallery

View Keely Orgeman’s bio (PDF)

Anna Reisman, MD
Professor; Director, Program for Humanities in Medicine; Director, Yale Internal Medicine Residency Writers’ Workshop

J. Lloyd Suttle
Vice Provost for Academic Resources

Blake Thorkelson
Director, Belonging at Yale and Special Projects