Committee on Addressing the Legacy of Slavery

The Committee on Addressing the Legacy of Slavery seeks broad input from faculty, students, staff, alumni, New Haven community members, and external experts and leaders on actions the university can take to address its history and legacy of slavery and create a stronger and more inclusive university community that pursues research, teaching, scholarship, practice, and preservation of the highest caliber. Members of the committee include Yale faculty, staff, students, alumni, and colleagues from New Haven. 

The committee reports to the president and will host listening sessions for faculty, students, staff, alumni, and the New Haven community. The committee also invites comments and recommendations through its webform

If your comments relate to works of art and related programming to address Yale’s historical roles and associations with slavery and the slave trade, please submit them to the Committee for Art Recognizing Enslavement (CARE).

Committee Members

Kimberly Goff-Crews (Chair)
Secretary and Vice President for University Life

Adrienne Joy Burns
Director of Outreach, Witness Stones Project
Co-leader, Elm Community Insight
Physician Assistant, YNHH Smilow Care Center at Orange

Sheryl Carter
Yale College Class of 1982
Former Member, Yale Alumni Association Board of Governors

Weili Cheng
Yale College Class of 1977
Former Executive Director, Yale Alumni Association

Alexandra Daum
Associate Vice President for New Haven Affairs and University Properties

Gary Désir
Vice Provost for Faculty Development and Diversity
Chair of Internal Medicine and Paul B. Beeson Professor of Medicine

Roderick Ferguson
Chair and William Robertson Coe Professor of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Professor of American Studies
Committee for Art Recognizing Enslavement

Cathy Jackson
Director of Planning Administration, Yale Office of Facilities

Madeleine Keenan
Yale College Class of 2026

Colton Klein
Graduate Student, History of Art

Avery Maples
Yale College Class of 2026

Michael Morand
Director, Community Engagement, Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library; Committee for Art Recognizing Enslavement

Dalena Ngo
Graduate Student, History