Committee on Art in Public Spaces (2019-20)

Diana Kleiner
Committee Members: 
John Bollier
Martina Droth
Kimberly Goff-Crews
Mary Lui
Pilar Montalvo
Keely Orgeman
Alan Plattus
Kishwar Rizvi
J Lloyd Suttle
Laura Wexler

The committee is responsible for advising the president about the numerous works of art situated in Yale’s public spaces, indoors and outdoors. They make recommendations regarding the inventory and condition of such art, and ways in which the university can make the art more accessible to campus residents and visitors, including tours and websites.

The committee welcomes the views of members of the university about art appearing in Yale’s public spaces. In accordance with Yale’s mission, the Report of the Committee to Establish Principles on Renaming, and the university’s commitment to diversity and inclusion, the committee reviews public works of art and makes recommendations to the president about future art acquisitions, conservation plans, and ways for public art to reflect the mission and diversity of Yale today.