Past Presidents

Yale Presidents 1701 – present

2013–2024 Peter Salovey
View speeches, statements, and more by President Salovey
1993–2013 Richard C. Levin Richard C. Levin
View speeches by President Levin
1992–1993 Howard Lamar Howard R. Lamar
1986–1992 Benno Schmidt, Jr. Benno C. Schmidt, Jr.
1978–1986 A. Bartlett Giamatti A. Bartlett Giamatti
1977–1978 Hanna Holborn Gray Hanna Holborn Gray
1963–1977 Kingman Brewster Kingman Brewster, Jr.
1950–1963 Alfred Whitney Griswold Alfred Whitney Griswold*
1937–1950 Charles Seymour Charles Seymour
1921–1937 James Rowland Angell James Rowland Angell
1899–1921 Arthur Twining Hadley Arthur Twining Hadley
1886–1899 Timothy Dwight Rev. Timothy Dwight**
1871–1886 Noah Porter Rev. Noah Porter
1846–1871 Theodore Dwight Woolsey Rev. Theodore Dwight Woolsey
1817–1846 Jeremiah Day Rev. Jeremiah Day
1795–1817 TIMOTHY DWIGHT Rev. Timothy Dwight
1778–1795 Ezra Stiles Rev. Ezra Stiles*
1766–1777 Naphtali Daggett Rev. Naphtali Daggett (pro tempore)
1740–1766   Rev. Thomas Clap
1726–1739 Elisha Williams Rev. Elisha Williams
1719–1722 Timothy Cutler Rev. Timothy Cutler
1707–1719   Rev. Samuel Andrew
1701–1707 Abraham Pierson Rev. Abraham Pierson*

* Died in office
** Grandson of the eighth Yale president