2014 Awards and Ceremony

On Wednesday, November 12, 2014, President Salovey congratulated 34 staff members representing seven key initiatives for the first-ever President’s Award for Staff Excellence.

Celebrating the inaugural recipients who demonstrate Yale’s spirit of leadership, innovation, and collaboration at its best, President Salovey presented honorees with framed citations for their achievements.

This year’s awardees include:

The Drupal Website Tool Creation team: Nancy Flowers-Mangs, Jessica Greer, Tenyo Grozev, Andrea MacAdam, Vincent Massaro, Kimberly Pasko, JoAnn Piscitelli, and Victor Velt

Working across departments and disciplines, this team collaborated to introduce a flexible and highly learnable web publishing tool, YaleSites, that has enabled us to cost effectively update and enhance thousands of pages of web content across the university.

Damage Containment at the Environmental Science Center: Richard E. Boardman

When sprinkler heads burst during the winter recess, Richard Boardman quickly pulled the right group of expert colleagues together and led this effort, which prevented catastrophic damage to one of Yale’s beloved treasures, the Peabody collections.

The Clerical & Technical Summer Training Collaboration team: Yvette C. Barnard, Ann DeLauro, Andrea C. Hart, Susan Z. Hart, Marcy Kaufman, Erica Sayers, Denise D. Scott, Daria Vander Veer, and Cathy Vellucci

This team developed a Summer Training Program which has helped to expand the perspective and skills of more than 1,000 Yale staff who have participated. Their efforts reinforce Yale’s commitment to staff development and career progression.

At the Yale Health Pharmacy: Peter Steere

Demonstrating consistent innovation and excellence in patient responsiveness, Peter has made the Yale Health Pharmacy one of the lowest cost and highest service quality operations in the industry.

The Expansion of Internal Millwork Capabilities team: Gabriel Esposito, Kevin Gardner, Michael J. Pizzella, and Barry J. VanSteenbergen

This team recognized that millwork projects that in the past were handled by outside experts could be done differently and less expensively through the acquisition of a few additional pieces of equipment and the development of the millwright team.

For the advancement of Digital Learning for Yale: Lucas Swineford

Lucas helped to cultivate donors and recruit faculty to teach online courses and led the effort to overhaul and rebuild Yale’s digital learning presence. His leadership is helping to transform Yale’s digital efforts and the global accessibility of its courses.

The Yale Pathology Tissue Services team: Amos Brooks, Lori A. Charette, Lisa Gras, Laura Ann Johnson, Sudha Kumar, Rebecca Melucci, John McGuire, Deirdre H. Salemme, Joseph R. Salemme III, and Yan S. Song

This team created a resource lab that provides researchers with tissue types vital to their work and helps translate research findings into diagnostic tools, medicines, and more. Their efforts have helped expand our annual research revenues by $1 million.

The ceremony for the 2015 awards will take place on October 28, 2015.