Gift Policy Review Committee

President Peter Salovey charged the committee with reviewing Yale’s current gift acceptance procedures and recommending any modifications to them. He also asked the committee to make recommendations on how best to communicate relevant policies to the faculty, as well as how a faculty member can share with the administration any concerns about the acceptance of a gift.

This committee provided Yale an opportunity to ensure that the university’s practices concerning gifts align completely with our unequivocal commitment to the free inquiry of the faculty. The committee completed its work in May 2022 and shared its recommendations with President Salovey, who announced the university’s response in the beginning of the fall 2022 semester.

Committee Members

Julia Adams (Chair)
Margaret H. Marshall Professor of Sociology

Cynthia Carr
Deputy General Counsel

Eugénie Gentry
Associate Vice President and Campaign Director for Development

Erica Herzog
John Slade Ely Professor of Medicine (Pulmonary) and Professor of Pathology

J. Lloyd Suttle
Vice Provost for Academic Resources

Paul Turner
Rachel Carson Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Amy Wrzesniewski
Michael H. Jordan Professor of Management

Julie Zimmerman
Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, Environment and Epidemiology (Environmental Health Sciences)