Athletics Director Search Advisory Committee


Committee Members

Marvin Chun, Dean of Yale College, Richard M. Colgate Professor of Psychology, and Professor of Neuroscience and Cognitive Science (committee chair)

Erin Appleman, Head Coach, Women’s Volleyball

Kimberly Fulton ’91

Judith Krauss, Professor Emerita, School of Nursing

Penelope Laurans, Senior Advisor

Jonathan Macey ’82 J.D., Sam Harris Professor of Corporate Law, Corporate Finance, and Securities Law, and Professor, Yale School of Management

Meghan McMahon ’87

Thomas Near, Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Head of Saybrook College

Benjamin Reeves BK '18, Captain, Men's Lacrosse

John Rice ’88, Yale Trustee

Lloyd Suttle ’69 B.A., ’75 Ph.D., Deputy Provost for Academic Resources

Kyle Vanderlick, Dean, School of Engineering & Applied Science, Thomas E. Golden, Jr. Professor of Chemical & Environmental Engineering



This committee will advise the president during his search for a new director of athletics for Yale University. The committee will broadly solicit input from the Yale community, with special attention and outreach to faculty, student-athletes, alumni, and coaches. Working closely with a search firm, the committee will select and recommend candidates to President Peter Salovey. Pilar Montalvo, director of administrative affairs in the Office of the President, will serve as a resource to the committee as it carries out its work.